Mochi Mochi

This post is dedicated to Jeanne and Dawn for being awesome friends and nagging me about updating.

I decided that for my first post I would do something really simple: Red Bean filled mochi. I had this almost once a week while I was in Hong Kong and have been planning to make this for quite a while. I went with this recipe because it seemed really simple.

1 1/2 cups glutinous rice flour
1/4 cup sugar
2/3 cups water
2 drops red or green food coloring
1/2 cup cornstarch

Little did I know….Simple is not always better.

Step 1: Layout supplies

IMG_0301
After a looooooong search I finally found food coloring.

IMG_0306

Which I then had to throw away… ’96? Eeek  >_<

IMG_0302

This is a very very important tool.

IMG_0308

Yes..I am one of THOSE people who has to measure everything exactly. This took a while as you can imagine.

Step 2: Mix Water, sugar, and flour all in one.

IMG_0309

Step 3: Wrap and microwave for 1-2 minutes until it rises and hardens.

IMG_0310

Step 4: Time to get my hands dirty

IMG_0311

Step 6: Roll

IMG_0312

Step 7: Cut and Fill with Red Bean Paste and then pinch

IMG_0315

Final Product:

IMG_0319

What they SHOULD look like:

sprinklebakes+mochi+6

Taste wise…they tasted a little doughy. Either they didn’t rise properly in the microwave or I laid too much cornstarch on the board and the taste of it just lingered. I’m still trying to figure out why they looked so ….scaly.

So first time with Mochi….FAIL. -_-‘

If first you don’t succeed….

Leave a Reply

